How do I get started?
Call or email Wyoming Speaks Speech Therapy to discuss your concerns and determine if your child would benefit from an evaluation and/or therapy services.
Do you accept insurance?
Wyoming Speaks Speech Therapy is an out-of-network private pay provider.
We will provide upon request a monthly super-bill as a statement of your services.
You can submit the superbill on your own behalf to your insurance company for
out of network reimbursement. We recommend checking your out-of-network
benefits with your insurance company.
Do you accept Medicaid?
Yes! Wyoming Speaks Speech Therapy currently accepts Medicaid. If Medicaid
is your primary insurance provider, a physicians referral is required.
When are payments due?
Payment is due at the time services are rendered.
Can I drop my child off for services and run errands?
No. We ask that you remain in our waiting room or in your car while your child is receiving services.
My child gets services in school can we do private services too?
Many children benefit from additional one-on-one therapy in addition to the services they receive at school or through the state. We always welcome the opportunity to collaborate with other professionals on your child's team.
My child gets Early Intervention (EI), can we do private services too?
If eligible based on clinical evaluation, yes, your child can receive private speech, language therapy services at Wyoming Speaks in addition to EI.
What about inclement weather?
While we want to provide regular therapy for children and their families, we understand that the weather can change quickly in Wyoming. In the event of a significant weather event, we want our families to stay safe. We will not charge a cancellation fee for late notice cancellations and will work with you to make arrangements for therapy at a later date.
What ages do you work with and where are services provided?
Wyoming Speaks Speech Therapy provides speech, language, and fluency therapy services to children 3-18 years of age. We provide services at our clinic, located at 479 Fairview Lane Suite C, Rock Springs, WY 82901.
How do I know if my child needs speech and/or language therapy?
Whether you, your pediatrician, a preschool teacher, or another important adult in your child's life has recommended services, we always begin with an evaluation to determine if therapy is recommended. An evaluation allows us to compare your child's skills in any given area to age-matched peers. The results of the evaluation will allow us to determine if your child is within the normal range for development in the areas of concern, as well as if therapy is recommended and how often.
Do you require an evaluation to begin services?
We require an evaluation unless your child has had an evaluation in the past 12 months, and the previous evaluation was in all areas of concern.
No Surprises Act & Good Faith Estimates
Beginning January 1, 2022, if you’re uninsured or if you opt for self-pay (i.e., not going through your health insurance), health care providers like me must provide you with an estimate of the expected charges before you get an item or service. This is called a good faith estimate (GFE).
Providers and facilities (like mine) must provide you with a GFE if you request one, or after you’ve scheduled a service. It should include the expected charges for all items or services that are provided as part of the same scheduled experience. The provider must provide a list of all items and services associated with your care.
For more information, please visit the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) website at www.cms.gov/nosurprises.
What is your cancellation policy?
We know kids get sick or scheduling conflicts come up and at times you have to cancel the last minute. As per our cancellation policy, we ask for a 24-hour notice. If last-minute cancellations happen repeatedly we will work with you to determine if another therapy time is a better fit. Cancellations made without at least 24-hour notice, or no-shows will be charged a full session fee. Continued cancellations or no shows after 3 missed sessions could result in dismissal of services or having your child be placed on our waiting list until a better therapy time is available for your family.